easy to make / Soup like things / vegan

Kale Lentil Quinoa Super-Stew!

This Kale Lentil Quinoa Stew is another vegan recipe I tried from the “Isa Does It” cookbook I received as a wedding gift last month. In her book, Isa calls it the Lentil-Quinoa Stew – with Lots of Kale. Is my recipe title better? I will never know (unless you tell me). I would call this a super stew because it contains so many “superfood” ingredients, not to mention it’s filling and delicious.

This recipe makes 6 servings, in my house this means 3 big servings. I served large portions as a complete dinner (no sides) to three average adults. The quinoa and lentils really fill me up in that delicious stew way and kale is the perfect veggie add in. It all went together so well I can’t believe I hadn’t tried a recipe like this before, I cook with these ingredients regularly and never considered putting them in a pot all together.

My alterations to the original recipe include:
-I used black quinoa instead of the recommended red – you could use any variety you wanted really but my fav is black (so much crunchier by nature).
-Made my own vegetable broth (out of necessity, use vegetable broth if you already have it on hand and don’t want to spend an extra hour making it).
-Did not use tarragon (because I didn’t have any).
-Used red wine vinegar instead of balsamic (do whatever you think is right in this case, I love red wine vinegar and it was all I had but I think balsamic would have been amazing as well).

Here is my variation of the Isa Does It recipe..

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium yellow onion, finely diced
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 6 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 cup diced carrots
  • 3 ribs celery, thinly sliced
  • 3/4 cup brown lentils
  • 1 cup black quinoa (uncooked)
  • 2 pinches black pepper (freshly ground is nice)
  • 1 pound (or bunch) of kale, pulled from stem and torn into bite-sized pieces
  • Splash of red wine vinegar (balsamic would also work)
  • Hot sauce for topping if you’re a hot sauce fan like me, Franks Red Hot forever

Instructions from Isa’s book, paraphrased by me:

Preheat a large soup pot or stock pot over medium heat and add the olive oil. Saute the onion in the oil with a sprinkle of salt and pepper for 3-5 minutes until the onions are at least partially see-through. Add garlic and saute another 30 seconds, add the thyme and stir well into the onions.

Add to the onion filled stock or soup pot : vegetable broth, carrots, celery, lentils, quinoa, salt, and pepper. Cover the pot and bring the mixture to a boil. Once boiling, lower the heat to medium and cook for about 40 minutes, stir occasionally to make sure nothing sticks to the bottom and burns. After 40 minutes, check to make sure the lentils are tender and cooked, add the kale and stir until it wilts. Add the vinegar, more salt if needed, and remove the stew from heat. Let the stew sit off the heat for 10 minutes. Now serve with hot sauce if desired and thin with water or more vegetable broth if a less thick stew is desired.

 

Leave a Reply

