easy to make / vegan

Rice Milk!

With our new high powered blender I was able to successfully make a preservative free three ingredient slightly sweet rice milk. My purposes for using the milk are simple, I wanted a milk alternative to put in my iced coffee. It goes wonderfully in my iced coffee and the fresh batch lasts a few days at least without flavor breakdown or spoiling. I have not tested the rice milk for any other use yet so I cannot verify it works well as a milk replacement for other recipes.

Makes approx 20 ounces of slightly sweetened rice milk.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups filtered water
  • 1/2 cup cooked brown rice
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon light brown sugar

Place all ingredients into blender (in this case I used a Vitamix s50 blender), turn it on starting at the lowest speed. Slowly increase speed to highest level and blend for up to 2 minutes. At this point the rice milk should be done, but if your blender hasn’t achieved the milky smooth texture you’re looking for then try another half minute. If it’s still not the correct consistency then your blender might not be capable of achieving the smoothness needed, better to accept this and not try again with rice.

Bam! Hope it works out as well for you as it has for me.

*Special note*: Rice milk is not as dense as regular milk, adding it to coffee may require a larger serving than milk. I end up putting at least 4 ounces of rice milk into my coffee because it’s pretty watery and to get the coffee-milk flavor I’m looking for I just have to use more than I would normally expect to use. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

