dessert / doughy

Apple *Sour Cream Crumble* Pie

I based my recipe off of this recipe from Martha Stewart . I will give my own ingredients and directions here however, I just used the MS recipe as a base and changed a lot of details.

When I decided to make several pies for the Holiday season, Apple Pie was at the top of the to-do list. I went through a few recipes before settling on one because I had a specific apple pie in mind. Things I wanted in an apple pie included crumbley topping and a creamy filling. Which is how I ended up selecting a sour-cream based apple pie with a crumble top. I have made a basic apple pie before, this was nothing like it except for the apples of course.

First I hand-made the pie crust with the recipe I posted and it was good to go after the short refrigeration period. If you want to buy a frozen pie crust or make one ahead of time it will save more than an hour of prep it takes to make the pie dough and let it sit in the fridge.

Here are the filling & topping ingredients with the variations I changed for my recipe. Warning, I had extra pie filling leftover because I did not use an XL deep pie shell. 

Filling:

  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • Pinch of salt
  • 16 ounces sour cream
  • 2 eggs, room temperature, lightly beaten
  • 3 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 lbs (2 cans) of apple pie filling OR 6 Golden Delicious apples (about 2 1/2 pounds), peeled, cored, and sliced into 1/4-inch wedges. I used canned apple pie filling and it turned out great. 

Topping:

  • 1/2 cup packed dark-brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 stick cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

While the crust I made was in the fridge, I made the sour-cream apple filling and crumble topping. The topping actually takes a little effort to make, maybe more than I expected but ABSOLUTELY worth it and necessary.

Directions:

  • Make the crumb topping: Whisk together sugars, flour, cinnamon, and salt. Add butter, and combine with a fork or pastry cutter. Stir in walnuts, and press filling into large clumps with your hands; refrigerate until ready to use.
  • Preheat oven to 450 degrees with 2 racks in lower third.
  • Make the filling: Whisk together granulated sugar, flour, cinnamon, and salt in a large bowl. Stir in sour cream, eggs, and vanilla until thoroughly combined. Add apples, tossing to coat. Place apple mixture in crust.
  • Place an empty rimmed baking sheet on lowest oven rack to catch any drips, then bake pie 10 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees, and bake until apples are golden brown in places, juices are bubbling, and crust is golden brown, about 45 minutes.
  • Remove topping from refrigerator, and crumble over hot filling. Pro-tip, use less crumble if you want a lighter topping, it can turn almost into a solid crust if you put the entire amount on.  Bake until topping is browned and set, apples are tender, and bottom crust is thoroughly baked, about 50 minutes. Let cool completely on a wire rack, 3 to 4 hours.

 

 

Leave a Reply

